Millions of Peaches

Peaches come in a can, they were put there by a man …

Or a woman, as the case may be.  I took Picasso and Cassatt and met with some friends to go peach picking today.  Unfortunately, I left my camera at home, so no pictures.  (ADD moment #1.)  When we got there, they told us we should have called ahead, the peaches aren’t ripe enough for picking today. (ADD moment #2.)

They took us on a tractor ride anyway, through the orchards, which is really the most I expected the boys to get out of the experience anyway.  They picked a couple fruits off the trees for us (a green apple and a peach).  Picasso wasn’t interested, they were too tough for him to chew.  He doesn’t eat skins, either, and I couldn’t convince him to take a big enough bite to get more than skin.  Cassatt loved them, though.  Munched on the apple, or maybe he was just drinking the juices.  When he dropped it, I gave him the peach, and he ate about half of it.  Over the course of an hour, he LOVED that thing!  (When I say it took an hour, it was at his mouth most of the time.  And he wouldn’t let it go.)

After the tractor, we went to the country store.  I was thinking about getting some extra peaches to freeze — I froze some peaches a few years ago and they were WONDERFUL.  And we had “fresh” peaches all year.  So I bought a bushel. (I know, I know, ADD moment #3 there.  How would that even fit in the car with 2 carseats?)  So far, I’ve frozen 8 of them, and it doesn’t even look like I made a dent in the box.

Tonight I bought some canning jars, we’ll see how that goes.  I’ve set up a Pinterest board to help me find recipes again, and my goal is to have most of the box done by the end of the week.  I’m going to be busy!!!

About Sarah Unsicker

Candidate for Missouri House of Representatives, 91st District. Mother, wife, friend, education advocate, lawyer.
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Millions of Peaches

  1. Pingback: Peaches … processed | Sarah

Leave a Reply

