Peaches … processed

It only took me a week to process all the peaches, but 3 weeks to blog about it.  A bushel of peaches takes a lot of work and dedication!

I started by freezing the peaches.  I peeled them and sliced them, then froze them on a cookie sheet. Once they were frozen, I put them in a gallon freezer bag.  I had frozen peaches before and like how it works out.

That gallon barely made a dent, but I don’t have tons of room in the freezer.  (It is small enough that I have asked DH for a freezer for Christmas!)  So I had to find another way to store them.  Enter … canned peaches.

I had never canned before. I had never even seen anyone can. My mom had some canning utensils in the kitchen growing up, but I never knew how they were used.  Enter blogs … I love how you can learn everything (with pictures) on the internet!  I really liked this post on simplycanning.com for step-by-step directions.

I used a large pot I have for a water bath.  This pot has a strainer insert, so I put the jars right in there–that made putting them in and taking them out much easier, and gave some space from the sides and bottom.  I did 4 jars at a time.

I prepared the jars by peeling and slicing the peaches, then putting them in hot jars.  I covered them with a light syrup (two parts water to one part sugar), and then put them in the strainer.  I had them in the canner for 20 minutes before I could take them out.

Taste of Summer

Some of the jars of peaches I canned.

I dropped one jar while I was taking it out, but fortunately it did not break.  I enjoyed that jar a few days later and they were delicious!

I still had a lot of peaches left!  I ate about a dozen, and froze the rest.  These peaches I froze in water–I put the peaches in a gallon bag, filled it with water (and the juice from one lemon to preserve their color) and froze the bag.  I was more careful how I sliced these peaches, so they are sliced very pretty. I plan to use this bag for a pie at Thanksgiving!

One question I’ve been asked is how I could stand to slice so many peaches.  Some peaches (clingstone peaches) have the pit stuck to the peach flesh.  These are horrible to slice!  I used freestone peaches — where the pit separates easily from the peach flesh.  These are so much easier to can! I wish the grocery store would identify which kinds of peaches they are selling (and when), because you can’t tell by looking at them!

About Sarah Unsicker

Candidate for Missouri House of Representatives, 91st District. Mother, wife, friend, education advocate, lawyer.
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peaches … processed

Leave a Reply

