What I Learned from Cleaning my Desk

It has been 5 days since I began 21 Days to a More Disciplined Life (see original post here).  In my mega-project of organizing my office, I spent several days cleaning my desk.  It should not have been THAT massive of a project, but it took me that long to do!  In the process, I learned a few lessons; I hope by writing them down that will mean one less time I have to re-learn them in the future:

  1. Clutter takes up visual space.  I already knew that clutter takes up space.  But having a clear desk surface with “just a few things” on it really doesn’t look any less messy than a desk with piles all over it.
  2. I think in terms of how much space I have available.  If an area is clean to begin with, the task is less daunting.  That is probably why I find cooking so much easier than cleaning up, even though it is more mentally taxing.  My desk is small, and can only hold about 3 pieces of paper before being completely full.  So if there is any one thing on my desk, my brain goes into overdrive when I think about sitting down to do something.  
  3. I need to do it now.  If I put something down thinking it will just take 5 seconds to take care of later, it will end up taking longer and more effort.  If I instead expend the mental effort of “where should this go” immediately, and make the effort to put it there, that frees up those 5 seconds “later” (which turns into 5 minutes) to do what I need to be doing then.  Because if I feel like I don’t have time or desire to do it now, I won’t have that time or desire later, either.
  4. I need to keep organized files.  Most of the clutter here is paper clutter which needs to be filed, shredded, or added to a calendar.  It will be much easier to file things if I know where they go! In the same vein,
  5. I need to have a designated shredding time.  Preferably when the boys are not asleep, and DH is home to keep them from “helping” me.

What is your Mega Project from 21 Days to a More Disciplined Life?  What have you learned from it so far?

About Sarah Unsicker

Candidate for Missouri House of Representatives, 91st District. Mother, wife, friend, education advocate, lawyer.
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What I Learned from Cleaning my Desk

  1. Hi Sarah,
    I have nominated your wonderful blog for the Liebster Award.
    Congratulations!!
    Pick out your badge and check out the information surrounding this award at
    http://spicyhomemaker.com/2012/10/29/liebster-award-nomination/
    Please feel free to ask any questions.
    Best Wishes,
    Melissa

  2. Pingback: 21 Day Challenge: Day 5 | addsarah

Leave a Reply

