21 Day Challenge: Day 5

So I didn’t do as well as I had intended today.  After my post about cleaning my desk, I spent pretty much the rest of my free time working on Tupperware.  (Yes, I sell it. Ask me.)  Needless to say, my floor isn’t clean.  Looking at it, it is not very cluttered, but the clutter it has takes up space.  But right now I have a cat on my lap and it’s past my bedtime and I still have reading to do, so my mega project will have to wait until tomorrow.

Today’s tasks were:

  • Clean the floor for my mega-project, and post the carseat on Craigslist
    Not done — so that will be a task tomorrow.
  • Tidy the Kitchen before bed
    Done!
  • Write down any other tasks to do from the book (tonight)–if memory serves, tomorrow will have a reading assignment
    There was a reading assignment: read Michael Hyatt’s post on 5 Steps to Developing More Discipline. Check.
  • Read Day 5 and Day 6 of  21 Days To A More Disciplined Life
    I have not done that reading today, but will read Day 6 before bed.

Another task today: identify roadblocks and make a plan to conquer them.  Some roadblocks I have to my mega-project completion:

  • When I don’t use my time wisely, so I don’t have any child-free time to work.  Strategy: When I have time and energy, spend 5 minutes on the task.  Remind myself to do better tomorrow.
  • When I have insane children. Strategy: keep them out of my office work space.  And cut myself some slack (someone needs to).
  • When I am out of town.  Since my habits I’m working on are home-based, pick it up where I left off when I return.

Tomorrow’s tasks are:

  • Clean the floor for my mega-project, and post the carseat on Craigslist — I don’t expect much on this tomorrow, since I have to take the cat to the vet.  Maybe they will take naps.
  • Tidy the Kitchen before bed
  • Read Days 6 and 7 of  21 Days To A More Disciplined Life
About Sarah Unsicker

Candidate for Missouri House of Representatives, 91st District. Mother, wife, friend, education advocate, lawyer.
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 21 Day Challenge: Day 5

  1. Keep going Sarah! You are forming habits that will make your life easier in years to come. : ) Habits aren’t easy to form, just as habits aren’t easy to kick. (Ask someone who has ever tried or been successful at quitting smoking!) And I totally relate to only having a bit of focused child-free time to get things accomplished.

    • addsarah says:

      Thanks so much! I think I’m at the point where my mind is starting to rebel against the new habits I’m forming, so I really appreciate your encouragement!

Leave a Reply

