21 Day Challenge: Day 7

First of all, I have to apologize to you, dear reader, for being delinquent on posting the last few days.  We took an impromptu trip out of town and I had very limited internet access.  I intend to pick up here where I left off

Which is right here, on Day 7. The topic for Day 7 is to “Resist Negative Thought Patterns.”  Wow, is that ever something I need reminded of.  Nobody beats up on me better than those voices in my head.  The ones that scream “you should have …” “why didn’t you …” “you’re behind and will never catch up …” and “it’s more than you can handle.”  I’ve been told to acknowledge the negative thoughts and then counter it with three positive (and true) things. Easier said than done!  Negative thoughts abound here and are a struggle to squash.

The question today is “how will you replace [your negative thoughts] with positive, inspirational thoughts?”  Wow.  That’s a great question because it requires a plan.  And by “that’s a great question” I mean I’m procrastinating.

I’ll start with one, the “you’ll never catch up.”  I can reply with three things:

  1. Moving forward is better than not moving at all.
  2. I will start by doing …
  3. Look how far I’ve come already!
  4. Last time I encountered this problem, this is what I did.  It was successful because …

OK that’s four, the last one came to me after working on numbers 2 and 3.  I can do this …

Today’s tasks are:

  • Keep working on my mega-project of organizing my office
  • tidy the kitchen before bed
  • Watch Just Do It.
  • Read Days 7 and 8 of 21 Days to a More Disciplined Life

PS: I know I already posted about Positive Thinking.  I’m still on Day 7 because 1) I need the lesson on positive thinking more than once, and 2) I need some time to catch up after being away.  I will move to Day 8 tomorrow though.

About Sarah Unsicker

Candidate for Missouri House of Representatives, 91st District. Mother, wife, friend, education advocate, lawyer.
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

