Survival Mode

Sometimes I feel like I am living in survival mode. Do you?

There are things I do to stay out of survival mode. Like my daily load of laundry.  (My washing machine broke though and was out of commission for the past 3 days while I waited for the part to arrive from Amazon.  Darling Husband fixed it for me, bless him!)  Or meal planning.  Of course, meal planning works better when I remember to bring my list into the store with me!  (And with a 2 and 4 year old in tow, I’m not going out to my car just to get my list!)

Other things put me into survival mode. Especially when the kids are running around not listening while I’m trying to get dinner ready.  Or I put on ANOTHER TV show so that Husband can fix the washing machine without losing parts.  I have to remind myself that these things are only temporary.

Say Goodbye to Survival Mode
I recently finished a book, Say Goodbye to Survival Mode, that will be published later this month.  I was so happy to be chosen for the launch team!  The book is by Crystal Paine, author of Money Saving Mom, one of my favorite blogs.  The book has practical solutions for doing everything from organizing your time to budgeting to home management to giving to others.  Some of her suggestions have really helped: for example, the idea that saying yes to one thing means saying no to others.  It’s simple, but important!

I wasn’t thrilled with the book at the beginning, but by the time I got to the end I really liked it.  I look forward to getting a hard copy that I can thumb through and mark up!

What do you do when you feel like you’re in survival mode?

About Sarah Unsicker

Candidate for Missouri House of Representatives, 91st District. Mother, wife, friend, education advocate, lawyer.
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Survival Mode

  1. I struggle sometimes still.and I don’t have little.ones, but I remember those days! One time I needed to.make a quick trip into the store, so I just grabbed the baby and my wallet, no carrier, no diaper bag–I made it all.the way to the checkout line before he spit up all over himself and down my side, and there I stood, without even a tissue to try to wipe his face. I just paid and walked out the store like.I didn’t know.it was there! Glad you found something for you in the book, I’ve really enjoyed it.

  2. Pingback: Survival Mode 7-day Challenge | addsarah

Leave a Reply

