Survival Mode — Seriously

I am getting beyond the point where I can handle this.

We are in survival mode here in St. Louis. The street in front of my house, which is normally cleared once an hour during storms (much more than most streets here), has not been plowed since Sunday and there is no visible pavement.  The streets throughout the city are not much better (many of them worse) and I have not ventured out.  Honestly, as bad as everyone says, I am afraid to drive in this.

Many school districts, including mine, are closed tomorrow for the third day in a row.  My district closed last week, also, for snow.  (Most districts weren’t back from winter break yet.)  So Picasso will have missed an entire week of school.  I am not so concerned about pre-K classes lost as I am about his need for social time–he is lonely!–and my need for a break.

Cassatt isn’t unaffected by this either.  The only way I can get him to nap is when he and I are in the car alone on the way to pick up big brother.  Otherwise, there is too much stimulation and he can force himself to stay awake.  This means he has not had a nap since the week before Christmas!  The lack of sleep is really getting to him, but I can’t seem to get him to sleep any more.

I definitely feel like I am in survival mode.  I have to remember this is only temporary and our regular schedule will come back soon.  Meanwhile, for tomorrow (and as long as this lasts), my goal is to give myself grace.  My most important tasks for tomorrow are to play with the boys, to read to the boys, and to take some quiet time alone.  If I focus on those things, I’m hoping to feel less like survival mode.

About Sarah Unsicker

Candidate for Missouri House of Representatives, 91st District. Mother, wife, friend, education advocate, lawyer.
This entry was posted in Home, Kids and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

