Time Management and Book Release

Time doesn't expand limitlessly.I am so excited to share this!  Crystal Payne’s book, Say Goodbye to Survival Mode, will be released tomorrow, January 21.  I can’t wait to get my copy!

As you know, I have been on the launch team, selected to read the book in advance and promote it.  I have enjoyed reading it on my phone, but I ordered it so I can mark up, dog-ear, and really get into the book!  (As a book lover, I don’t usually treat books this way. But this book calls for love of the book more than respect for the pages.)

One thing Crystal recommends is to make a time map for how you will spend your time.  Analytical as I am, I tracked my time for two weeks before I did this.  (OK, I was only going to do one week, but then I decided it didn’t really represent my time since it was a week of snow days.)  I then looked at how I had spent my time, and how I want to spend my time.  I am going to make a real effort at being intentional with my time now!  Here is my time map:

sleeping                                 8 hours
eating/preparing meals     2.5 hours
playing with kids                 3 hours
Time with husband             1/2 hour
driving kids                          1 hour
personal care                       1 hour
devotion/quiet time           1.5 hours
computer work                   1 hour
cleaning                                1 hour
not daily                               2.5 hours

Things that are “not daily” are things I don’t do every day, like errands, Jazzercise, blogging, other cleaning work, etc.

If you add this up, it comes to 22 hours.  I have included 2 hours of “margin” time — to give myself extra in any area that needs it.  So if I have a ton of e-mail to sort through one day, I may spend longer than 1 hour at the computer.  Or if I am put on hold for a long time by insurance, that can be margin time as well.

Have you made a time map for your days?  How does it work for you?

About Sarah Unsicker

Candidate for Missouri House of Representatives, 91st District. Mother, wife, friend, education advocate, lawyer.
This entry was posted in Say Goodbye to Survival Mode and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

